White Egg Yolks: To Eat or Not to Eat?

Today, I had just started to prepare 2 eggs to eat. I cracked the first egg in a bowl, but as soon as I did, I noticed that the egg yolks were white, with only a slight hue of yellow. My first thoughts were, “this is strange, I don’t even know if it’s safe.” I thought I’d crack the other egg as well, but I made sure to crack it separately. Also white, I found that very strange. (The photos below make it look more yellow than it was, but you should still see that the contrast between the whites and the yolk is of transparency rather than color.)

Image

I then had two choices, I could either scramble and eat them, not caring about how they looked, since they smelled normal, not spoiled or anything, or I could research to check that it’s safe at least, regardless of if they would taste bad. I did scramble one of them though.

Image

I went with the second choice and I Google’d it. This is the first result I found. What the latest update said was: “The general consensus is that white egg yolks are perfectly safe to eat and the reason they’re white is a lack of pigment. Count yourself lucky if you ever find one – they’re pretty rare! Lots more information in the comments below.” So I thought I’d just take photos and show them to other friends online, and see if anyone had come across it. Most of them said they never had, and then one of them pointed me out to the fact that China makes fake eggs (Yes, even eggs!) 

Again with the choices, the first blogpost I found said that it’s rare, and that it’s just a lack of pigment, also that it’s safe to eat an egg laid by an “albino” chicken. I was just afraid about eating something completely unnatural, and when I looked into the matter, I found out that fake Chinese eggs are identified by a slightly shinier shell, they’re more rough, they would sound louder if you shake them, they don’t have the natural “rawness” smell in them, and finally that the egg whites and yolks melt together fast, without needing to be whisked. Here’s an article.

I checked all of them above, and concluded that they’re probably NOT fake Chinese eggs, just eggs of an albino chicken. I might be wrong, but if the info above is correct, then they were definitely natural and just rare.

The odd thing is, when I went away after I whisked one of the eggs, I returned to find it has turned into a bizarre, dark, yellow color with a hint of red in it. I didn’t cook that one.

Image

I cooked the others, and they didn’t taste bad. They had less flavor, but they weren’t rotten or smelly. The omelette turned out to be a bit more white than regular omelettes, but the difference wasn’t that huge. 

Image

So is it strange? Or have a lot of other people come across it?

If you’re wondering whether you should eat them or not, I ate mine, and I’m alive and well, so go for it. The reason I didn’t throw them away is because 4 eggs out of the same carton turned out with white yolks, so I expected the rest to be white as well, and I didn’t want to waste anymore.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “White Egg Yolks: To Eat or Not to Eat?

  1. John Conners says:

    My one regret when I came across a white egg yolk myself (and wrote my post on it) is that I didn’t eat it. Since at that time there was nothing at all on the net about white eggs I had no idea if it was safe to eat and, as you’ve concluded and found out, they indeed are. As they’re rare enough that you probably only come across them once a lifetime if you’re lucky I’ve missed my chance but glad you took yours! 🙂

    Interesting find about the fake eggs, never heard of that either!

    • Well it was scary, and I didn’t know if it was worth risking, but then I went for it bit by bit. It’s strange how there isn’t anything scientific and proven about it though! The funny part is, I think the whole carton (of 30 eggs) has white yolks inside, since I was just baking and opened another 5 eggs which also had white yolks. Maybe I should ship you some! Haha.

      But don’t regret it anyway, you didn’t miss out on any special taste.

  2. Jenny says:

    I just cracked a double white yoke from one of my hens! One was completely clear the other was white and opaque! I threw it away because the white opaque yoke had flecks of reddish brown in it. Bummer! Should have eaten it!

    • Haha, I love how people keep coming across this post from all over the world, all looking for an answer, but never finding a proven one.

      I still remember how the lack of pigment was affecting the lack of taste, you haven’t missed anything, it’s finding it that counts 😉

  3. Tom from Georgia says:

    I just had a completely white egg yolk…. It came from farm fresh eggs that I got at a farmers market….. Time to buy a lottery ticket!!!!!

  4. mayai says:

    your comments are weird fellas but may be becuase of the countries you come from. Such eggs are from chicekens that dont do the ‘thing’ with roosters. as a result, its white, with roosters its yellow. farmers who stock chicken for the purpose of eggs business have lots of these. i have eaten over 15 trays

  5. Shelia says:

    Oh my! The rooster has absolutely NOTHING at all to do with egg color, lol. The color is due to the hen’s diet. Big commercial egg producers do not have roosters at all and the egg yolks are normal. I, as well as countless other people raise hens for eggs and do not have roosters. I have had flocks with and without roosters. The ONLY thing a rooster can do to affect the egg is to fertilize it, period.

  6. Alex says:

    I’m actually worried if they really are safe to eat. I mean, this isn’t normal, right? Something must have been wrong with the chicken which produced it. Egg yolks are supposed to be yellow and nothing else. I encountered a white one myself this evening, and it still puzzles me. I boiled it, opened the shell and sliced it – and saw the white yolk. I decided not to eat it, but my girlfriend did. I also took a couple of photographs, which I can send if anyone would like to have them.

    At any rate, is there anything new about this strange occurence to anybody’s knowledge?? Please let me know. I am seriously worried about my girlfriend!

  7. Alex says:

    I’m actually worried if they really are safe to eat. I mean, this isn’t normal, right? Something must have been wrong with the chicken which produced it. Egg yolks are supposed to be yellow and nothing else. I encountered a white one myself this evening, and it still puzzles me. I boiled it, opened the shell and sliced it – and saw the white yolk. I decided not to eat it, but my girlfriend did. I also took a couple of photographs, which I can send if anyone would like to have them.

    At any rate, is there anything new about this strange occurence to anybody’s knowledge?? I’m seriously worried about my girlfriend now. Please let me know asap!

    • Hi! Don’t worry Alex 🙂

      As far as I know, nothing happened to anyone after eating that kind of egg (including myself). What I learned is that this is that the yellowness decides the flavor strength of the yolk, so it only lacked flavor. And it’s just an albino chicken 🙂

  8. Anja Rumble says:

    I have frizzle chickens and my eggs are 5 out of 7 are white , i feed the chicken a good diet , what does this mean ?

    • My personal (totally uneducated) guess would be that one or a few of your chicken have an albino gene somewhere, so that’s why the eggs are mostly white … but that shouldn’t be something to worry about I guess.

  9. Girlgonewife says:

    Thanks for the post, an egg I wanted to make omelette turned out with white yolk I tried to keep calm and added other ingredients and when tried to whisk it, it turned to be more thicker(the yolk) and I just threw it. And googled it to find your post. Ahh something with me and eggs not going along these days 😦

    • You’re very welcome, I’m glad you found it helpful (even if you threw away the egg). You didn’t miss out on much, because missing pigment makes it also taste bland, so yeah. I hope the next egg you crack is healthy! 🙂

  10. Kelley says:

    The color of the yolk is only an indication of the chicken’s diet – darker yolks come from chicken feed with more pigmented ingredients (like yellow corn). If the chicken feed contains less pigmented ingredients (like sorghum), the yolks will be lighter.
    It is no indication of the chicken’s health, mating habits, or feather color.

    http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/07/12/201501977/help-my-egg-yolks-are-freakishly-white

  11. oladunni says:

    I bought some eggs a few days ago and decided to boil one. It didn’t boil well enough so when I broke it , I couldn’t fine the yellow yoke ! rather it was while! I was scared thinking I bought bad eggs. Second day I decided to do a proper boil of another one. This time I got it properly boiled. I cracked it and found the yoke while. Then I decided to ask Google. I got to this site and read all previous comments. My first reaction was to throw all eggs away but decided to wat when I found out it was not harmful and the colour had to do with the feed!

  12. David says:

    Today I got one white yoke egg and I take photo and ask my mom about that , but she don’t know what to do

  13. Samantha Edwards says:

    I came across 1 this morning and had to research it before I consume it thanks for the info

Leave a Reply

